Nowadays shopping has become a new favourite pastime for young people. What are the reasons for this? Should they be encouraged to develop other hobbies? How?

Write at least 250 words

In the modern world, the youth have taken to shopping as a hobby. This essay will examine the possible causes for this, seek to provide information on alternative hobbies and how the youths can be encouraged to engage in them.

The possible reasons as to why more youths are turning to shopping as a hobby are availability of online gaming avenues and social media influence. Online gaming avenues provide means by which youths can generate income from the comfort of their own houses, by using phones, laptops or tablets and internet: the cash is then used for online shopping. For example, some youths spend a large part of the day gambling on sport betting sites and with the mastery of the betting skills they are guaranteed of wins. Social media has also created means by which the youth are turning into shopping as a hobby in that every social media network has paid ads most of which are about e-shopping. As a result, with almost every young person being on social media, they have access to information and means for engaging in online shopping. For example, on Facebook or YouTube almost every video has an ad on an online store.

I believe that the youth should be encouraged to engage in other activities. Other hobbies could promote creativity and prevent lack of productivity and habit formation. For instance, the youth could be encouraged to develop hobbies and interests such as art and online writing.

The youth can be encouraged to develop other hobbies. This achieved done by engaging the youth in activities that require less screen time, no access to the internet, one on one interactions with their peers or family members and providing financial lessons to them. For example encouraging the youth to be adventurous and to engage in camping activities.

In conclusion, most youths have nowadays taken to shopping as a new hobby due to social media influence and availability of online gaming avenues. They can be encouraged to develop other hobbies which are more productive and promote creativity by encouraging activities that limit access to the internet and screens such as art, and adventure.