Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experiences or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Do you agree or disagree with this view?

People have different opinions on what is more important when recruiting employees, some emphasize college or university degrees over personal quantities and experiences. I partly agree with this view.

There are many reasons why some employers put more stress on a degree. Scholastic qualifications are pivotal hence they prove that graduates have gone through the necessary training, both in terms of theory and practice. This is a hopeful sign for a competent prospect employee, who can grasp an understanding of how to carry out a job. Besides that, university degrees also show the range of skills one person has, which is also a factor the recruiter is looking for. This can result in easily selecting suitable candidates that accelerates the process of hiring people for companies.

However, I do think ignoring personal experiences and skills when employing is not advisable. It is not uncommon for recruiters to meet those who are clueless about the real world and how the workplace functions. This is when hands-on skills and practical experiences are needed. In terms of personal traits, more companies are interested in analyzing applicants’characteristics to choose the best suited. Besides creativity, adaptability and other work-related traits, companies want to have a positive and friendly working environment, so those who show some sort of negative or toxic personalities can have a lower chance to be hired.

In conclusion, I understand that qualifications are emphasized by some recruiters because recruiters are able to separate and select appropriate candidates faster and more reliably. However, I also believe that the factors of personality and experiences should be highly regarded, for these also affect the work afterwards.