Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities with other people rather than living with their adult children Is it a positive or negative development

Geriatric society deals with the fear of being alone and unproductive most of their time. Based on the above statement, some people prefer to stay with retirement communities then to live with their families. This essay will discuss 2 main positive aspects associated with this trend.

The primary benefit to live in old age homes is companionship. Because of the identical age group living in the house, individual find it much easier to make friends. However, there can be certain disputes in many circumstances but, it could be solved with the similar understanding over a topic. To elaborate, on an average 78% people choose to live with there age group, as they find it to be more comfortable and accessible. In short, the level of communication remains same when society of same fellowship lives together.

The other merit is the increased sense of security while living with similar people. Although, family members tend to protect the older generation but sometimes the younger persons are the one who threaten the vulnerable older people. Perhaps, percentage of such misdeeds are reduced when living with same peer group. For example, recent crime report published the data of year 2019 and stated that 23% of old people living with their families are more prone to misbehaviour from the young ones.

To conclude, geriatric population tend to live in care homes rather than in between there own families. This has led to more beneficial influence then negative when, considering 2 main factors of fellowship and protection.