Nowadays, some parents put a lot of pressure on their children. Why is the reason for doing that? Is this a positive or negative development for the children?

In this day and age, families tend to have full confidence in their children’s abilities and always force them to be excellent at something, which usually puts their youngsters under huge pressure. There are various reasons resulting in this behavior. As far as I am aware of, this can create a negative impact for both children and adults, not that bright future which most parents predict.

One of the sources initiating this trend is that parents want their children to be successful in their education or career prospects. They believe that a bigger investment in studying associates with a prospective future. Additionally, they may perceive their child’s slightly superior intelligence as an opportunity for success. Therefore, they always try recommending advanced textbooks for their kids, scheduling their extra classes, and keeping them study as often as possible. Basically, it is stuffing knowledge in the younglings’ brains constantly and repetitively.

As a consequence, this may lead to many mental problems in children plus parents themselves. The kids may feel overwhelmed by the huge burden of work and the hopes of their parents, fearing that they may disappoint them. Some may feel being oppressed, which is reasonable since they are not learning machines - they require free time and interaction with friends. Thereby, they feel depressed, imprisoned, and more distracted from their studies. Like a domino effect, if they fail their studies, the parents may become miserable because all their dreams are broken, every investment is wasted.

In conclusion, parents understandably put pressure on their children to give them prospective lives. However, the results may do more harm than good.