Nowadays sports is a big business with high earnings for professional sports people and companies involved both financially and other ways Is this a positive or negative development for sports

It is undeniable that sport is turning into a profitable business for professional sports players and sports companies. In my opinion, this situation has both positive and negative sides.

There are a few reasons why this is a positive development. First, the huge sport market spares sportspeople a space to be constantly motivated and competitive. To be more specific, sportspeople can consider earnings to be their motivation, which helps them concentrate on their career and reputation to win a high-paid sport contract. Second, in some developing countries, national sportspeople are not paid well enough for their hard work and dedication. The competitive sports market incentives the government to think twice about the salaries they pay for national sportspeople. For example, Vietnamese female soccer players are paid too poorly that they do not even have decent houses to live in. Therefore, the big sport business can provide them with better job opportunities.

However, every coin has two sides. There are some sportspeople who devoted too much of their time on the sport market instead of training themselves. For instance, a popular Vietnamese basketball player signed with too many sportswear brands last year that he could not pay attention to his basketball training sessions. Consequently, he was criticized very badly on various social media platforms. Moreover, he was banned from joining a worldwide basketball tournament.

In conclusion, sports becoming a huge market had both pros and cons. The government should provide some policies so the negative impact of this situation will not overweigh its positive impact.