Nowadays there are number of free music and movies are available online

Do the posivite impacs of this development outweigh negatives ?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in the availability of movies and songs on the internet at free of cost. As such, there are both merits and demerits of this development, which will be explored in this essay.

There are a myriad of benefits of this trend. The most significant one is that people can download music and listen to it anytime and anywhere. Not only does it allow people to listen music at anywhere and anytime, it also saves people’s money. For example, in a recent article published in Economic Times it was found that approximately 80% of people of USA prefer to listen music online rather than buying it from music shops, which definitely saves huge amount of their money. Besides, there is no need to go to cinemas to watch movies, because people can watch and download movies through internet. Needless to say, all these benefits stand people in good stead, as far as saving money and time is concerned.

However, there are some pitfalls that can easily overwhelm the potential benefits of this development. Primarily, this development causes great financial loss to artists and production companies. For example, in a recent study conducted in India it was found that a large number of film production companies have closed down, because of the piracy and the availability of movies on the internet.

From what has been discussed, one can conclude that the despite some drawbacks, benefits of this development are indeed too great to ignore.