Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, the press and news channels have had the habit of prioritising bad news over positive developments. although this trend is the inherently nature of the media, its adverse effects on individuals and society deserve consideration.

There are a number of reasons why the media are so eager to jump on ill news. first, since the public have an affinity to problems or emergencies articles; it is thus the best way for reporters to attract a myriad of readers. In fact, humans are biologically hard-wired to react more intensively with dangers or bad news, which induces them to seek for these hot scoops in newspapers. second, reporting negative information is actually more straightforward than positive developments, which allows the media to feed their audiences a constant stream of news. For example, conducting an article or a broadcast on a traffic accident requires less effort as well as specialised knowledge than reporting a scientific breakthrough.

Nevertheless, the rampancy of bad news on the media is detrimental to the public as a whole. first, from an individual perspective, if the press draws up a daunting reality with through its pages and broadcast, people will be discouraged to leave their comfort zone. For example, more and more parents are opting for home schooling in fear of their children being abused in public institutions, deriving the chance of interpersonal interactions of their offspring. second, from a society perspective, by allowing the availability of negative stories, the media is to blamed for the escalating distrust between people. In fact, ill news causes people to be sceptical of each other, which hinders their social bonds.

In conclusion, although the press and news channels are entitled to deliver problems and emergencies stories, this trend proves detrimental to individuals and society as a whole. The media should revise with care which piece of news is worth reporting.