Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive developments. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a tendency towards media coverage concentrating on issues and emergencies rather than positive changes nowadays. While I accept that this phenomenon brings about benefits to individuals and society, I would argue that it is more likely to have detrimental effects.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that news coverage brings about significant benefits. The first one is that local residents are kept informed of daily serious events. For instance, there are usually public broadcasting from local stations that predict the upcoming natural catastrophes such as typhoon or flooding. As a result, local people could avoid property damage and financial losses when these natural disasters occur unexpectedly. In addition, the news report on climate change and environmental issues are of great importance to people’s daily life because it helps raise local people’s awareness about preserving the environment by reducing the use of disposable plastics or planting more trees in their local areas.

However, I would argue that media coverage also tends to exaggerate the negative news nowadays, leading to more adverse effects. On an individual level, media sensationalism in today's news coverage makes people feel unsafe about their daily life. As a result, people are more likely to undervalue everything. For example, plane accidents are always considered making the news, but car crashes which are more likely to kill far more people, almost never do. From a social perspective, sensationalism in the media can lead to the high possibility of religious and ethnic hatred, which results in undesirable misunderstanding and political instability among ethnics.

In conclusion, for reasons I have mentioned above, I believe that while news coverage of urgent problems brings about undeniable benefits, it is more likely to lead to enormously damaging effects.