Nowadays young people are admiring media and sports stars even though they do not set a good example. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The ever-increasing accessibility of media encourages adolescents’ attachment on the private life of famous people. However, these celebrities do not always act as role model and their private life is unlikely to stand up the public scrutiny. As for me, this is a completely negative development which leads to confusing right and wrong.

It is undeniable that some people become media stars for wrong reason. Taking Paris Hilton as an example, being famous for inherited money and countless gossips, her behaviors promote an idea that money and good looking are two preconditions to success. This stands in marked contrast with the eduction that children accept in school which told it is efforts and determination that matter in one’s career path. These young people might then tend to be misled as there do exist some people who become well-known just for appearing on the reality TV show and do not really work on it. The result is that out of innate laziness, young people therefore chose to prioritize media profile over education qualification as it is much easier to bragging oneself on social platform.

What is more, the situation would be worse when sports stars cannot set up a good example for children, since they are more convincing for the feats made. Firstly, people may wrongly contribute the success of sports players to their certain bad behaviors. For example, instead of endeavor, violence and vice are always considered as typical characters of them, young people may then believe that these two are essential for being a famous player and ignore the endless practice behind their achievement. Secondly, because of fondness, fans always try to justify the detrimental, or even law-breaking, behaviors of their idols. Doping become an excuse for exercising muscle and ill temper demonstrates their brilliant competence. Such tolerance breeds latent danger in society at large.

In conclusion, the aforementioned results highlight the responsibility that celebrities should face up to, or, the whole society would fall into social value confusion.