The number of people who are overweight or obese is far higher than in previous generations. What are the reasons for this, and how can the problem be tackled?

Compared to the previous generation, the quality of life is more improved, however, for that reason, the number of overweight people is much higher. Modern life leads to people's sedentary lifestyles, an increase in the demand for processed foods consumption. In this essay, I will discuss two main problems associated with this and put forward some practical solutions.

The first reason why the number of people who are overweight or obese is far higher than in previous generations is people's sedentary lifestyles. Nowadays, smart appliances are always helpful for people to do anything, for example, when they do housework at home, they have a household appliance, when they work at the office, they have a computer. Therefore, people can get everyday tasks done with hardly any physical effort and they tend to rely on smart appliances. Besides, as life gets busier these days, people seem to not have time for physical activities. The solution to this problem is to take advantage of devices to work more efficiently, balance between work and relax, and take time for doing exercise at least 30 minutes a day.

Another reason is eating processed foods which usually contain ingredients such as saturated fats, added sugar, and salt. These foods also contain less dietary fiber and fewer vitamins than healthy foods. We know this is not far-fetched arguments that processed foods make obese immediately. To tackle this issue, people should consume home-cooked meals.

In conclusion, obesity is an issue that will continue to demand our attention for the foreseeable future. However, I feel that the best way to solve this issue is by doing regular exercise and eating healthy food to support ourselves in suffering diseases.