The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved?

These days, obesity has become a serious global health issue. It is evident that obesity is increasingly prevalent both in developed and developing countries, posing a number of threats to people’s well-being. This essay will discuss the causes for the rise in obesity and its solutions.

It is clear that there are a lot of factors contributing to the increasing number of people suffering from obesity. First of all, being overweight may result from an unhealthy diet. Foods that contain refined sugar, saturated fat and a high salt content comprise a relatively large proportion of people’s diet. Also, nowadays, people have a tendency to buy ready meals rather than home-cooked meals, which are much safer and more nourishing. Secondly, a rise in overweight people may be due to a sedentary lifestyle. Some people may immerse themselves in the virtual world, glueing to computers’ or smartphones’ screens all day. Others are often stuck behind the desk for long hours, coping with a heavy workload of assignments and deadlines, having no time left for a daily workout.

Fortunately, there are a number of ways to tackle the rise in obesity. To begin with, individuals can reduce the likelihood of being overweight by adopting healthier lifestyle choices. They should abstain from high-cholesterol food and increase consumption of vegetables, fruits and whole grains. Individuals should also engage in more physical activity such as cycling and brisk walking. More importantly, governments should prohibit the marketing of fast foods, especially those aimed at children and teenagers. At the same time, they should also ensure that healthy foods are affordable to all customers and support regular physical activity in the workplace.

In short, the growth in obesity is mainly because of unhealthy food choices and an inactive lifestyle. While individuals can solve this issue by staying healthy, governments can help by banning fast food advertisements and making sure the availability of nutritious food.