As the number of people who live in cities continues to increase the number of children who are raised in cities also has increased Some people believe that raising a child in a large city brings many advantages Meanwhile other people claim that it has ma

As a result of the increasing number of city residents, many children now are brought up in cities. Although this may lead to certain problems to children, it can also be adventageous for child development.

On the one hand, there are several disadvantages of raising children in cities. Children in cities are more susceptible to bad effects cause by pollution. Not only air pollution but water pollution and noise pollution can also adversely affect their health. A child's safety is another concern for parents in a city. This is because children are exposed to many dangers as crime rate in city is often much higher. Moreover, living in cities with higher population means children have to deal with a higher degree of competitiveness and academic pressure. This puts children in a stressful lifestyle which is not good for their mental development.

Despite the drawbacks, raising children in cities can be beneficial in some aspects. Firstly, children in cities can access better education. This is because schools in urban areas are more well-invested and have larger budgets which allows them to install facilites including laboratories or libraries. Another plus point is that cities offers a wide range of ways to approach knowledge since children can not only learn at school but also broaden their mind by participating in various extracurricular programs or going to cultural sites such as museums, galleries, zoos and aquariums. Moreover, living in a diversely populated society like cities can be a privilege. Children in a multicutural environment will likely be more culturally awared and more open-minded than rural children.

In conclusion, the advantages and disadvantages of children growing up in cities can be debatable. However, I am inclined to believe that the benefits that cities offer children in the aspects of education and cultural awareness makes it a wiser choice despite the drawbacks.