The number of students studying science at university is constantly declining. What do you think are the causes? What effects will this have on our society?

Education is the most powerful weapon which can be used to change the world. The preference towards study subjects often experiences changes with the passage of time. Presently, a constant down fall has been registered in the number of university students choosing science stream in many nations. This essay intends to account for reasons and effects of this happening on our society.

There are multifarious reasons behind this situation. First and foremost, unlike other subjects, science study is considered quite complicated and requires a great deal of intelligence, hard work and commitment.

For example, subjects such as physics and chemistry comprise highly complex lessons, experiments and empirical researchers. In response to such studies, scholars are subjected to burn midnight oil to accomplish respectable marks. What is more, it is also a fact that difficult studies make pupils mentally tired and frustrated when studying for many hours. Needless to say, the interest towards science is diminishing at an alarming rate in the nations worldwide. What is more, the number of job seekers in the field of science and technology is exceeding to availability of employment opportunities in respective stream. In India, for instance, a study of Hindustan times shows that every third student is mentally prepared to become a doctor, engineer or scientist. This is just because motivating for white collar high ranked jobs is a traditional approach of parents. This practice has led to a dramatic rise in the number of job searchers in the segment of science, resulting unemployment due to lack of jobs in science related fields at present. Therefore, nowadays, exploring bright future in other streams seems a better choice than opting science under traditional thinking.

As far as the effects of this phenomena are concerned, a massive loss to science institutions is quite common consequence of this situation. To be specific, science universities and colleges have been constructed by making huge investments. More noticeably, the annual expense including salaries, resource management and practical trainings of running such institutions is far more higher than other educational organizations. A significant reduction in the number of science students could be back breaking for science educational industry in terms of finance. Lastly, a country may deprive of prodigious professionals of science and technology if the tendency to avoid science continues to grow in the future.

To recapitulate, undeniably, discouragement towards science is not a good view point to witness in the whole world. Therefore, administrations should not only make efforts to make learning of science more interesting by encouraging changes in teaching approach but also hike the number of jobs in science to overcome the darker side of this trend.