A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at an institutions or organisation as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement?

As part of a diverse curriculum, many schools, colleges, and universities offer students to work for any organization or company. This work is included in the curriculum and students do not get paid for it. This trend has its pros and cons.

On the one side, doing a good job leads to increased opportunities for the future—especially when being evaluated directly against other students or employees. Paid or not students have the opportunity to feel how employee looks like in the real world. An unpaid internship often allows students to explore a particular field of interest in order to help them decide if this is the path they should take. An internship can allow them to gain more specific knowledge or learn more about the area they want to focus on once they graduate. This is especially true of fields like medicine, finance or technology.

On the other side, nowadays, finance is one of the biggest concerns for students. In some cases students have to live an area outside of their hometown it requires from them more costs for accommodation and eating. Also, there are not always work in capability of students so it can be difficult for them to accomplish this task.

To sum up, I suppose that unpaid work has advantages on students experience and also it allows them to learn more about their future field of activity. Conversely, it is important to remember that it can be challenging for them to take such work due to economic turmoils.