One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The medical world is constantly evolving and progressing. One of the results of such improvement is longevity and an increase in the average number of living years, I believe the positive points of this advancement is far greater than the drawbacks.

Loosing loved ones is extremely difficult and the depression that follows is unbearable and hard to overcome at times. therefore, during these troublesome periods, it is difficult to maintain a normal routine. these days thanks to medical progress this issue has been reduced and the constant fear of someone’s passing has fortunately decreased. One of the other benefits of this development in medicine is the extended time we will have with the people around us. We will have the opportunity to learn about their past and experiences. For example, grandmas and grandpas are the sources of wisdom which we can apply to our own life.

On the other hand, prolonging living years has some negative points. One of them is the cost of financial support for seniors. Whether they live in nursing homes or by themselves, there will be a rise in fiscal responsibilities of government and individual households mainly because they will require special care as they age. Another negative impact is the growing number of the older population and a decrease in the energetic workforce. even though some senior citizens are still able to work due to risen retirement age, but they may not be able to perform their duties as well as before.