one of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Some people believe that by virtue of improvement of medical care, life expectancy is growing. From my perspective, the advantages of this trend will outstrip disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are several drawbacks of longer life expectancy. The most obvious evidence is that the more elderly people the societies have, the more doctors and nursing staff the societies need. This is because senior people are prone to get diseases; as a result, there are many patients at hospitals. Additionally, governments and some insurance companies will have to spend a large number of money on pension insurance and pension income in a long time, so, in the future, pension income and pension insurance are able to be removed because governments and the companies lost a lot of funds.

On the other hand, I think that benefits that the societies get outweigh the drawbacks. First, older people are likely to support their children. For example, the support of oldsters in caring for babies may help young people reduce a burden, since young people are busy with their jobs every day. Furthermore, the elders may aid their children in doing housework or in teaching grandchildren cultural and moral values. Second, governments have the benefits from older people. They may make them more productive by increasing the retirement age or by employing them in non-labour work. For instance, in Vietnam, many senior people work at commune people's committees when they retire from their former jobs.

In conclusion, although longer life expectancy is not without disadvantages, I think that the upsides will justify these.