One long distance flight consumes fuel which a car uses in several years time but they cause the same amount of pollution so some people think that we should discourage non essential flights such as tourist travel rather than to limit the use of cars to w

It is undoubtedly true that one long-way flight consumes fuel way more than that a car in several years does, but this is also true that at the end same amount of pollution in caused by both. Keeping this in mind, it is a widely supposed notion that non-essential flights should be discontinued instead of cars. I completely disaccord with the given view and I shall elaborate my side in the given paragraphs.

To begin, the tourism sector of a country is considered to be the backbone of an economy and plays a major role in boosting country's economic stability.For example, Tourism is considered to be the third pillar of the economy of Mauritius after manufacturing and agricultural sector. It contributes about 15% to the GDP of the island. Therefore, if the tourist travel flights would be discouraged, one huge source of income and job creation would be lost in different parts of the world and the economy would decline.

Also,travelling internationally by cars is an unfeasible option because of the water and forests boundaries between countries. Moreover discouraging cars instead of flights is an relevant option because fuels used in flights are more petrolium-based and because of being synthetically flourished, they produce less pollution in amount also and in quality too it is not that harmful; whereas, cars are major pollution contributors as they emit more toxic pollutants such as carbon and nitrogen oxides. For example, the recent pollution statics of switzerland said that the major proportion of its pollution was created by private cars which was about 80% , whereas just 2% was caused by the flights and rest was comprised by industries and public transport.

To conclude, in my opinion private cars should be discontinued rather than flights as the pollution caused by flights is way more bearable than that of cars and also flights saves alot of time and is an convenient option too.