One world government is better than national government. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some academic groups espouse the idea of building a united world government to replace the separated systems nowadays. While this outlook may contain promising solutions to certain current issues, I would argue that authoritarianism and the economic slowdown will overpass those benefits.

Under a common government, world issues will be tackled more quickly. Considering the current circumstances, many urgent problems including environmental preservation and energy shortage, have been fall into stagnation due to the lack of consensus between country members. For example, the world has seen the failure of such prolonged and daunting conferences as the Doha round where participants couldn't reach a joint statement. Thus, with the appearance of a new common authority, all the greatest power may be centralized inside the hand of a group of leaders. They can steadily pass laws and ensure their implementation to address those issues. However, even under the same government, there are always different groups of people with contrary benefits. Therefore, if the new law can’t embrace this disagreement, it will trigger internal conflicts and social unrest.

The centralization of power may consolidate pervasive totalitarianism. There will be no other countries and independent non-government organizations existing to criticize the inappropriate actions of the government. As a result, citizens may have to suffer from human rights violations and inequality emerged from the bias towards elite groups. To cite an example, in China, ethnic groups are reported to be the victims of labor exploitation of big corporations. However, this reality is covered by the government as a tradeoff of economic growth. On the other side, one common authority may reduce undistorted competition among different countries, which is proved to be the main incentive of innovation. This phenomenon may slow down the technological and economic development process.

In conclusion, building a united government may facilitate handling some urgent issues. However, the potential threat of dictators and competitive motivation decrease is more of concern.