Online shopping is replacing shopping in stores Is it a positive or negative development

Recently, the number of online shopping websites users have increased dramatically. Undoubtedly, great convenience and variety of products they have brought. However, I suppose it might bring negative effects as this trend could severely damage the land economy.

Both consumers and producers could gain from online shopping due to plenty reasons. Firstly, modern shopping websites like Amazon are extremely user-friendly and provide detailed tutorials, so you need almost zero cost to start your business. Some websites might even provide supporting services such as self-operated express. Secondly, either individuals or firms could create seller accounts, which means you could compare products from all categories of sellers and choose your most favourable one. Thirdly, thanks to the globalisation effect of the Internet, buyers and sellers all over the globe are able to join the same market using shopping websites.

Admittedly, I would have to agree that online shopping has plenty obvious advantages, but actually there is great risk that it would destroy local economies. If residents of a local area tend to purchase most of their things online, the local shopping complex, markets, or even some convenience stores will soon bankrupt rapidly. Therefore, not only the local GDP but also the local government’s tax revenue would plummet, so the government’s budget deficit would surge. Eventually, there would be less subsidy for local firms and lower social benefit. Furthermore, government expenditure on improving local education and healthcare might decrease, for instance, more elder citizens might die due to the weak medical support.

In conclusion, although I understand online shopping might be the main form of shopping in the future because of its modernised advantages, I believe we should still concern the negative impact this trend might bring to the local economies.