the only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Yearly increasing deaths by traffic accidents are becoming one of the most pressing concerns nowadays. This leads some to believe that there are only strict penalties to minimize traffic violations. From my perspective, although such a suggestion plays as one of the proactive approaches to secure road safety, other methods should take into consideration.

Granted, there are good reasons to say that harsher punishments could contribute to improve road safety to a certain extent. Chief of these is that it would deter road-users from committing traffic offenses. For instance, those running red lights, driving recklessly or speeding should be seriously penalized with a large amount of money or those driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs are taken into account to be imprisoned or suspended driving licenses for several months. Given how stricter methods not only prevent traffic violators from keeping violating but also act as a wake-up call to other people, which impacts directly on both their action and awareness.

However, I believe mentioned stricter fines above could be unnecessary if the government places high emhasis on controlling citizens’ driving ability and cognizance. Key of these is that the authorities should ensure that people have adequate driving skills in a first step. To be more specific, making the driving test harder, including written test and practical ones for those who are allowed to use vehicles. In addition, road-users are also required to retake their driving licenses every two years, which does wonder for them to learn new traffic regulations as well as reinforce their understanding of traffic laws. Thus, thanks to ongoing driving education, people gain a deeper insight into traffic laws and enhance their driving ability, from that severe traffic punishments could be unnecessary.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that implementing stricter penalties is one of feasible measures to deter traffic accidents.However, if concentrating on improve citizens’ driving awareness and ability, this would be also other viable solutions to better avoid countless traffic accidents.