The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education

These days, the traffic issue can be solved by only lower the usage of cars in terms of visiting work places, schools or universities, and shopping. I partly agree that not only replacing traditional way of work and shopping with distance work and online shopping may help to solve the problem, on the contrary government actions can be essential to deal with this problem.

There are beneficial influences of distance work as well as online shopping in overcoming the amount of traffic. If people do the former, this might help traffic to fall significantly. Because, according to the researchers, over 70% city population, who have their own cars, are employed in cities, in other words that percentage of cars may not be driven for the sake of home working. This can lead to decrease traffic jam and make cities relatively quiet. Moreover, online shopping does not require driving car. Most people have to go shopping to consume daily lives at least once every day, but instead of doing this, if they purchase products in online shopping, it can not only prevent traffics from cities, but also help them to save their time.

However, these may not be abundance to tackle this problem without role of government. First, authority can introduce the law to drive only one car for each family. For example, some families might have money to buy more than two or three cars, whereas this kind of law can warn them to drive one car in cities. Unless they follow it, they know that authority can impose fines to them. As a result of it, the number of cars in cities make a balance, which might not cause traffic issues.

In conclusion, changing work styles and shopping habits can be more beneficial to evaluate this issue with the help of government.