Open plan office no walls, no barriers. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Constructing plan office has recently been a trendy option among companies. Both pros and cons can be seen in this development and personally, I believe its benefits can totally outshadow its drawbacks

On the one hand, working in the same room with loads of people may discomfort many individuals as it invades one’s privacy and concentration. Having to work in a plan office can be really uncomfortable and inconvenient as any acitivity people do can be noticed by numerous other colleagues. Therefore, it potentially creates a sense of confinement rather than a workplace since people can not do anything but work. Moreover, it can be a nuisance when there are too many noises coming from various people at the same time, which can be immensely disruptive, thus, deteriorating the productivity

On the other hand, a plan office can do wonders to not only employers but also their employees as it helps promote communication and save more money and time to be constructed. Specifically, this type of office by nature brings a host of opportunities for people to get to know more of their co-workers since there is no limit and more people in a room, hence, in a long term generate solidarity and friendliness in their own offices. In addition, it takes entrepreneurs a considerably smaller amount of money to erect plan office compared to the traditional one because fewer walls are needed as there are not many rooms and more time can be saved when the distances between different company parts are shorter

To conclude, plan offices have drawn in many attention from companies because of their unique style. Although it can take its toll on the employees regarding their privacy and concentration, the positivity can outweigh the negativity because of its friendliness, affordability and time-saving