Open plan office no walls no barriers Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

In recent years, a number of businesses focus on the office layout or the arrangement of furniture is often believed to promote the operation and productivity of a company. From my point of view, I think that this issue also depends on each occupational company. However, I do not think that the merits of an open-plan office can always outweigh the demerits.

Ignoring the advantages is impossible. Firstly, as physical barriers formed by walls and doors are eliminated, an open-plan office makes easily for employees to communicate with their colleagues. Not only create closed-relationship between employees and boss but also the staff easily share ideas and promote teamwork in a team. Moreover, work performance may also be guaranteed from another angle in that employees’ behaviors can be easily supervised to ensure work progress. Besides that, an open-plan office suitable for the companies has a tight budget because this office layout can save the costs about premises and utilities more than the traditional offices.

On the other hand, noise traffic in the work environment is one of the most disadvantages of the alarming problem of the open-plan office which are taken into thorough consideration. This issue makes the concentration of employees decrease significantly lead to the productivity of business reducing as well. Furthermore, The nature of work matters significantly, the security of some important business information such as strategies, contracts, or patents, . . . can be compromised. Finally, an open-plan office is difficult to control problem if happening infection like Covid-19, this office layout will make the virus easier spread widely and dangerous for people healthy.

To sum up, Everything has two-sided of its. Therefore, an open-plan office depends on each occupational company if it is suitable for that company to evaluate disadvantages of open-plan offices outweigh the advantages vice versa.