In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

The problems of traffic congestion have become one of the most controversial issues in this modern society. In this situation, some people argue that governments need to inflict heavy taxes on people who own private vehicles and invest their finances in developing public transit. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons of it in detail.

On the one hand, the most significant benefit of the governments' policy regarding imposing high tariff is that a better environment across the world could be expected because many car owners would less take advantage of it due to the high rate of tax fees. Thus, this trend leads to reduce environmental degradation considerably. An excellent example of it is that in some countries, many commuters who go to and from work and many visitors tend to take the underground or buses more often rather than taking their automobiles to avoid paying expensive car ownership payments. However, the levels of environmental pollution have significantly decreased.

On the other hand, there are also a couple of drawbacks to such governments' initiative. Firstly, some enterprises which rely on markets of trades and transport are likely to have a detrimental impact on their businesses' profit immediately. This is because paying too excessive taxes can give a substantial burden on the companies, and as a result, it is difficult for them to increase high productivity and better outcomes effectively. Besides, some people might complain about paying a hefty tariff on account of an unfair tax fee application. It means that the practice of such law would not affect wealthy people, so they would continue to utilise their cars compared with the poor.

In conclusion, the measure of imposing taxes massively concerning car ownership is a double-edged sword because of some issues such as environmental problems, and influences on individual and companies.