Organized tours to remote places and communities are increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for local people and the environment?

In contemporary society, there is a tendency for package tours to the countryside to be significantly increased. From my perspective, I concur with the statement that this phenomenon could be harmful for regional citizens and the environment.

It is undeniable that a skyrocketing number of guided tours to the wilderness and surrounding residents can trigger several demerits. First, tourists might be disrespectful to the local habitats by devastating creatures. For example, they may flatten forests for camping, killing wild animals for their satisfaction, etc. Consequently, the provincial environment may be noticeably destroyed and the preservation of alive species would be more complicated to complete, especially endangered ones.

Furthermore, the cultural uniqueness of some of the communities, usually ethnic ones, might have disappeared. The key rationale is that as soon as numerous travelers visit those minor groups of people, would a steady amount of cultural influence from visitors gradually affect those minor peoples to alter their customs and traditions and would their regional customs and traditions be replaced and forbidden. For instance, a relatively huge quantity of Westerners reaching the remote areas of Southwest Japan, particularly Nagasaki, spread their religion of Christianity so much to the locals that they soon became Christians, leaving Shinto, the iconic and traditional religion, being forgotten in this province.

In conclusion, I hold a firm belief that a dramatic increase in the number of travelers could result in not only the degradation of the regional environment but also the loss of unique cultural aspects, including customs and traditions.