Overpopulation is the world's most serious environmental problem.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Overpopulation is being one of the most concerning trends in the world nowadays because of the negative impact that it brings. However, overpopulation is normally considered to cause adverse effects on the economy and medicine, though, it can also affect the environment badly. Therefore, I firmly agree with the given idea.

First of all, overpopulation is one of the main causes of environmental pollution. The growth in the numbers of citizens means that more land is needed in order to provide accommodation and public necessities such as schools, supermarkets or amenities,...The action of land exploitation results in landslides and it also leads to flooding in the areas that are placed at a low position. Additionally, the waste being thrown each year is predicted to be increased among with the amount of smoke and oil from factories. For instance, in 2021 the population decreased a little bit due to the consequences of COVID-19 disease; however, the rare positive side is that some of the creatures out there in the wild had been conserved as a result of the long period of abandonment of some factories.

The second point I should mention is about some solutions that have been discussed to deal with this issue. The first solution is based on the official head, who had the responsibility to restrict and reinforce the laws of giving birth to children. For example, a family should raise 1-2 children only and some families who have got problems with reproduction should be encouraged to adopt kids from the orphan so as to decrease the number of babies. Furthermore, the dwellers should also take their responsibility to follow the rules strictly and raise their own awareness not only in giving birth to children but also in the environment.

To sum up, the overpopulation trend is being overlooked for the negative effect that it brings. Hence, not only the government but also the citizens have to raise awareness and take action in preserving the environment and limiting the number of babies being given birth.