Parents should control the screen time of their children. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on whether parents should limit the screen time of their children or not. Many people, these days do not consider a large amount of time spent watching TV is an alarming problem for their children. As far as I am concerned, the parents should control the screen time of their kids for several reasons.

To begin with, there are several reasons why I suppose that spending a lot of time sitting in front of screens would harm the children. First and foremost, children’s health can be seriously affected. In other words, some diseases related to vision as well as the nervous system are demonstrated because of spending much time playing games. According to the American Pediatric Association, overtime watching TV can slow down the development of a child’s nervous system. If they watch televisions and play games all the time, their eyes will become short-sighted. Moreover, they are prone to suffer from obesity due to the lack of outdoor activities.

Secondly, another reason is that some popular PC games and videos which are widely spread on social networks contain several violent content. As a result, children are easily tempted into social manipulation and the consequence of this is a significant increase in juvenile delinquency. Additionally, the more time children play games, the less time they spend on studying as well as social life. Excessive TV watching and playing pastimes discourage children from reading books and informative articles. Therefore, these make children not only go away from real life but also focus on imaginary life which appears in games and videos.

In conclusion, it seems to me that excessive screen time has negative impacts on both the mental and physical health of children. Hence, the parents should put the screen time of their children into limitation to ensure good health and studying performance.