Schools concentrate far too much on traditional subject which do not adequately prepare students for the realistic demands of modern working world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on whether conventional curriculum at school can prepare a comprehensive foundation for students to meet the working requirements in current context or not. From my perspective, I strongly agree with the statement that tradition subjects cannot help students to meet the realistic demands of modern working world.

To begin with, it is obvious that tradition curriculum lacks of practical exposure to contemporary situation. Such subjects immensely concentrate on theory such as definition and formula, which is extremely difficult for learners to absorb and put into practice. For example, students are prone to be overwhelmed by the huge amount of knowledge about authors’ biography or the meaning of the composition. Instead of focusing on these types of subjects, school can teach various fields of studying, for example soft skills for personal interactions and cooperation. Therefore, students who are skilled at different skills will have a solid foundation for their future occupations. Moreover, the most important things in current digital era are the Internet, electronic devices, and computer. If students graduate with a shortage of excellent knowledge of these, they cannot be highly appreciated and chosen for appropriate positions in enterprises.

Another reason why I oppose the traditional subjects is that individual needs in learning cannot be completely met in competitive world. As a matter of fact, each individual has his or her own plan for future career needing different preparation. Therefore, conventional curriculum is not a good solution, and it should be customized to be suitable for certain purposes. Taking students studying arts as an instance, if they can study in-depth on specialized subjects rather than irrelevant ones, they will have more opportunities to expose to applicable skills and have tendency to be competent.

In conclusion, it seems to me that conventional curriculum has several certain disadvantages for students in preparing a comprehensive foundation and knowledge for future profession. Both authorities and institutions should take these drawbacks into consideration and adjust the curriculum to produce students ready to meet the demands of competitive working markets.