In the past, buildings often reflected the culture of society but today all modern buidings look alike and cities throughout the world are becoming similar. What are the reasons for this? Do you think the advantgaes overweigh the disadvantages?

Historical architectures emblem the cultural heritage of a lifestyle and serve as a source of attraction for the dwellers and tourists. However, it is noted that, nowadays, those iconic buildings are gradually supplanted by standard construction stencils and cities over the globe are becoming identical. Firstly, this essay will discuss many factors contributing to this issue and secondly, it will discuss the drawbacks which are more dominant than benefits.

To begin with, the first reason is that we are living in the age marked by the acceleration of international modernization and the erection tends to meet the requirements globally of modern use. Since the world becomes more integrated, culture and arts from different regions are more likely to be mixed up and we have the global standard of beauty and common model of structure that all buildings and cities based on. For instance, designing buildings in Eastern area such as China, Singapore, Thailand,... are inspired by the structure of many landmarks in Western area which were seem to be different in the past. In addition, city designers from totally distinguishing background can have the opportunity to communicate and share ideas with each other, therefore, probably introduce similarity to their blueprints. For example, per se, Khalifa tower, one of the most famous building in Dubai, was designed by American architects.

Let’s consider whether benefits overweigh disadvantages or not. Laudable arguments are that this issue will help tourists or global citizens feel homely and have the same services or lifestyle which can adapt to everyone. Nonetheless, to my view, these advancements render a wealth of dire effects such as damaging the cultural heritage and iconic features of a city which stands out in the world. A building with an aesthetic design is believed to contribute to the appearance of a city and make it become an specifically exclusive place on the maps. Additionally, were all the buildings to be similar, many worldwide destinations would be too dull to travel which leads to the decline of tourism.

In conclusion, modern construction practices have resulted in marvels and revamped the metropolitans. In my point of view, however, not only advantages does it have but also much more challenge which requires all nations and residents to take a measure to preserve the historic architecture and sight of cities.