In the past most people used to travel to their place of work With increased use of computers the internet and smartphones more and more people are starting to work from home What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development

In previous years, most of the people used to commute to their workplace. However, with the increased use of modern technologies like computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are beginning to work from their homes.

With technological advancements, computers, the internet and smartphones have become a need of the hour. Their usage has significantly increased over the past few years that lead to more and more people starting to work from home. There are many advantages of working from home. People are able to save the money that they were spending on their commute. Likewise, if a company is shifting to work from the home trend, they don’t require an office anymore to operate. As a result, employers are able to cut down the operational costs like paying rent of their office, Office’s utility bills etc. In order to thrive in business, the employees must be kept happy which results in increased and better output. It makes the business grow. Nowadays, a lot of people are happy to work from home, they enjoy their work more while working from home as compared to working in an office, that required a lot of traveling. With people enjoying their work more, it improves their performance as they don’t have to travel a lot that only made them more tired and unhappy about their job.

Working from home has its own drawbacks as well. Working from home requires a fair amount of technological awareness. Not all of the people are familiar with the technologies like computers, internet and smart phones. With lack of technological knowledge and interest, the performance of the employees starts to decrease that ultimately affects the business. Another disadvantage is that working from home requires a specific work place at home and not all of the employees have that luxury, they are often distracted by their families which affects their ability to carry out task like they used to at their office. Management is also not able to monitor their employees in real-time because they are working from home and it also decreases their interaction with them, which leads to a drop in team performance.

Working from home has many advantages, however, it does have some drawbacks as well.