In the past most people used to travel to their place of work With increased use of computers the internet and smartphones more and more people are starting to work from home What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development

As the world adjusts its sails to the winds of the Fourth Industrial Revolution, electronic gadgets play an integral part in life nowadays. There is an ever-increasing number of individuals who are beginning to use technology to telecommute. In this essay, I will discuss both the pros and cons of this new development.

On the one hand, the option to work from home is attractive for two main reasons. First, there will be a wider applicant pool among staff. For instance, employees with disabilities might have high chances to have access to employment which are the same as others’ since they do not have to worry about getting to the office because they can communicate with their partners from different parts of the world through video conference. Second, this trend would enable people to slow down environmental deterioration. To be more specific, the reduction in traveling and staff commuting means there is less air pollution, which helps to protect the planet more.

Despite these aforementioned benefits, several drawbacks do exist. One evident weakness is that your personal information or bank details might be stolen by malware as there are many people suffering from this cybercrime. Another negative aspect of this advance would be an increased amount of distractions that you are likely to face at home such as noisy neighbours, family members or social media sites. As a result, your productivity and concentration levels may drop because you could be disrupted easily.

In conclusion, there are plus points to telecommute regarding equal employment opportunity and decreasing environmental problems. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of leaking personal information and getting distracted.