People are consuming more and more sugar based drinks Why What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption

Nowadays, a considerable proportion of people are consuming more and more soft drinks without considering the dire consequences. This essay will explain why people drink sugary beverages and some measures should be conducted to curb the consumption of sugar-based drinks.

To commence, the Beverage industry is rapidly growing to meet the increasing demand of consumers around the world. This means that soft drinks are accessible and easily obtainable in public places such as supermarkets, malls, and schools. Additionally, the influence of commercial advertising plays a large role in persuading people to consume an enormous amount of sugary drinks every day. Beverage companies invest a boatload of money in hiring celebrities to promote their products without even caring about the customers’ health. People are made to believe that they will be more energetic and trendy when they spend money on buying a certain brand of soft drinks. Another compelling reason is that an unstable mentality can result in taking in more sugar. People are exposed to stress on a routine basis because of the heavy workload they have to deal with at schools and offices. As reported in the journal Nanaphotnic, people tend to reach out to a tub of ice cream or coke when feeling under the weather as stressful situations can increase our sweet cravings.

While more and more beverage companies advocate naive consumers for buying their sugar-based drinks, governments should take action to reduce the dramatically increasing consumption of sugary drinks. They must introduce restrictions on the annual manufacture of sugary beverages, and it would be more effective to impose an official ban on the production of artificial sweeteners which are added to soft drinks to make them even more addictive. Another effective solution to adopt is that national authorities should take control of the marketing industry, encouraging them to do more advertising about healthier beverages that contain natural sweeteners or even zero-sugar beverages. This will certainly help to improve the overall well-being of the citizens.

In conclusion, there are numerous reasons behind the alarming consumption of sugar-based drinks among social groups, although some steps can be taken to curb the intake.