People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

Thanks to modernization and industrialization that lead people to have different options for their drinks. There is a growing tendency for using beverages which contains sugar. As far as I am concerned, this trend is generally regarded as a serious problem. As a result, a definite amount of attention is demanded.

Examining possible reasons of consuming sugary drinks, there are two critical justifications worth mentioning. The most significant one is the convenient of buying sugar based beverages. In Vietnam, people are very easy to find out a grocery store where they could buy a can of soft drink across the streets. Another explanation is drinking sugary beverages contribute to enhance people’s emotion. Some studies indicated that sweet taste in beverage such as soft drinks, juices, milk are considered as a source of energy. Those could refresh human’s brain after a long time at work and prevent people from tiredness. For example, students in break time often choose Coca Cola or Pepsi to drink that could avoid them from sleepy. .

Apparently, prevention ought to be made in order to lessen expansion of this issue and following are my proposals. First and foremost, a particular tax should be charged to the companies using unhealthy ingredients to produce sugary drinks. If government enforced a kind of tax, the price of unhealthy drinks would be increased. The tax would make people think carefully when they want to spend money on their drinks. It should also be mentioned that artificial sweet taste should be replaced by natural flavors. Most people aware that sugar is not good for their health, nevertheless, they have few other choices, having substitute products would change consumers’ habit.

The existing data provides a concrete foundation to conclude that drinks with sugar are consumed frequently should not be neglected. Instead, such matter certainly deserves recognition. Hopefully, the aforementioned methods are valuable to specific level.