People are living longer. Some people think that it causes big problem. Others, however, think the aging population has many disadvantages for business, government and for society in general. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that the life expectancy has been increased and the rate of aged population is increased sharply. In my opinion, the elderly are a natural part of any society and they can have both positive and negative effects on the country and, here, in this essay, both sides of their influences are discussed.

Considering the positive side, old people can contribute to variety of sectors by playing decent roles including teaching, managing and consulting. Teaching best fits aged person who have invaluable experience by being in various academic centers and facing with students having diverse talents. In addition, managing a small company requires the characters of having both a clear vision and, more importantly, experience of handling unexpected situation which can be realized in a mature person at his 50’s. Furthermore, nowadays, parents are fully occupied with their jobs leaving them no time to take care of their offspring and grandparents can take the responsibility of growing new generation. In this way, not only do parents improve their performances at their profession, but also children are benefited from great lessons shared by their grandparents by which the gap between the younger generation and the old one is prevented.

On the other hand, the growing aged citizens not only impose pension pressure on the state government but also the tax income is decreased by any retirement. This effect is more severe for the governments which their major income relies on their workforce and on the production. In addition, In most of the countries with populated aged person, hospitals are flooded with infirm citizens. There is no room for doubt that the elderly needs more medical care and the expense of keeping them healthy becomes a burden to the economy.

In the light of given reasons, I tend to believe that aged persons can have a positive effect on the society through being active in some positions that best fit them, the aged citizens, however, pose some economical pressure on the state, considering their retirement income and health care expenses.