People are now living longer than ever before and many old people are unable to look after themselves. Some people believe that it is responsibility of families to look after the elderly, while others say governments should provide retirement homes for them where they can be looked after properly. DISCUSS.

In today’s world, the number of elder population has increased rapidly. Since the improvement of technological medication and better lifestyle, people can live much longer than other previous generations. There is a question of who should take the responsibility of taking care of elders. Some people say that looking after elders is a duty of family, while others argue that the state should take this responsibility. Both sides will be discussed carefully.

On the one hand, there are multifarious reasons behind the former argument. First and forecast, older people have sacrificed most of their life in order to support the requirements to their offspring, thus family members should take turn to look after their elders. Therefore, the duty of taking care of aged people is family. Secondly, the quality of elder lives will be better if they live with their family. Happiness and satisfactory can be acquired by living with family members because elders are surrounding with their lovers. For example, when the old live with their family, they will feel happier than living in a retirement home with all strangers.

On the other hand, some people who agree with the state should look after all aged citizens, assert that aged citizens already have paid tax for a long time and when they get older they should deserve all services that they pay for. The state should take care and supply aged citizens. Providing health services, subsidizing pension and offering retirement homes to the old should be taken by the city. With sufficient services from the city, aged people will not have to live in their own and will be more satisfied with their retirement life.

In conclusion, both the state and family should take appropriately steps in order to look after aged citizens. Hopefully, with sufficient services from the government and good taking care of from family, it will nourish aged people with love and happiness. Older people will have a great time with the last stage of their life.