People in community now could buy cheaper consumer goods Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

These days, people are offered a great number of products which have more reasonable price. In my opinion, this the drawbacks outweigh the benefits for some reasons.

On the one hand, there are several obvious advantages that lower-cost goods bring to the paying public. Buying these products, consumers, especially who live on a tight budget, can save more money. Blue workers, single parents, or students will be not likely to make ends meet if they have to spend more than half of their income on expensive daily expenses such as purchasing food. In contrast, putting affordable products up for sale can help those people economize on their living costs, thus they are able to put some money aside for personal purposes in the future, buying a car or a house for example.

On the other hand, slashing prices of goods may cause more problems to companies and consumers. First, there will be increasing cut-throat competitions among companies which manufacture the same type of commodities. In order to attract more consumers to purchase their products, companies must bring down prices; thus, they may not earn high profits and some of them may be pushed to the verge of bankruptcy. Second, cheap commodities will be not ideal for consumers to use in the long run. For the sake of maintaining profit margin, companies tend to resort to import low-quality materials to produce inexpensive products which can be easily broken down and not durable. Hence, people who buy these products may spend much more money on repairing regularly or buying a new one.

In conclusion, more affordable products do more harm than good for consumers and companies being responsible to produce them.