People have different views on how to reduce traffic congestion. Some think that governments should build more train and subway lines, while others think that building more and wider roads will reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views about whether road expansion is a proper way to mitigate traffic jams. While there are some benefits to the construction of larger roads, I would argue it is better for governments to invest more in building public transport systems as train and subway lines.

On the one hand, advancing the road systems could be argued as a way of solving the problem of traffic congestion. To begin with, building more roads could provide drivers with flexible route choice. Generally, commuters tend to travel at the same time of a day, and this causes traffic jams during the rush hour if there are only limited routes. With more roads, drivers could have the alternative route selection, which achieves the purpose of traffic diversion. Consequently, it eases traffic tension. Next, it is common that roads are built narrow in some developing countries, and a small accident such as a breakdown could paralyse traffic. Regarding this, designing wider roads could be the solution of traffic jams by providing larger space on roads for drivers to cope with emergencies without disrupting traffic.

On the other hand, I would agree with those who believe that governments should lay emphasis on developing public transport systems. More train and subway lines provide larger passenger capacity than private vehicles and thus could meet the transport demand of a vast number of passengers. Moreover, constructing more of these lines could decrease the number of individual vehicles because people are encouraged to take such public transits. Compared with driving private cars, railways and subways do not have to go through intersections and traffic lights, and these traffic systems normally have fixed schedules. Such level of punctuality attracts people to choose trains and subways as their primary means of transport for travelling, which would mean that fewer people would need to travel by car. As a result, traffic congestion could be more effectively alleviated.

In conclusion, while it may calm the traffic in the short-term by the means of road expansion, my own view is that advancing public transport systems is a more effective way to reducing traffic congestion in a long-term orientation.