People nowadays are not as fit and active as they were in the past. What are the reasons for this? What measures can be taken for this?

Exercises are found to be beneficial to humans and it enhances healthy living. Although adults tend to do less of these, people are increasingly interested in various ways by which exercises can be made attractive other than participating in a sports tournament. In my opinion, rudimentary activities such as signing up for a gym class and individual workouts are more effective.

Global sports tournaments are organized for professionals with expertise with higher objectives than the basic need for exercise. Several sporting competition are staged annually across the world by various countries and governing bodies which concentrate on getting world-class country representatives rather than amateurs. For instance, the World Cup hosted by FIFA every four years, host a final following rigorous round of qualifiers for several matches in two years. These football matches are played by athletes who take the game as a profession which in reverse keeps them physically fit. However, due to the strenuous work involved in keeping up at that level, it becomes extremely difficult for the aged to consider this as an option for getting better health thus the cause for the retirement of sportsmen as they grow older.

Today, numerous businesses are building well equipped standard gym and exercise centers to encourage people especially the old to get fit. Most gyms facilities provide services for general fitness, bodybuilding, and dieting. For example in Nigeria, it is common to see multiple such centers within a small neighborhood. These gyms have professional trainers who offer various services based on individual want and assessment. The assessments are particularly essential for adult because it allows the trainer to have first-hand information before the commencement of the training. Based on a survey by Uppsala University, humans become weaker as they grow old and susceptible to ailments, for this reason, adults are encouraged to spend time in the gym.

In conclusion, although competitions like the Olympic can be an option for exercise for the participants, the requirements such as registration and cost implications make it less alluring to adults.