People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that when people move to a foreign country, they should spend time on understanding customs and traditions of this country. However, I disagree that they should follow all of them, as will now be explained.

On the one hand, it is necessary that people should make an effort to perceive promptly customs and traditions of a new country where they commence to live. Primarily, this will create favorable conditions for them to enhance their sociable relationships. If you have a deeper understanding of the culture of a foreign country before staying there, you will get access to conversations with locals more easily and can make new friends. Furthermore, knowledge of foreign culture helps people to avoid awkward moments in a new country. For example, Dang, my friend, told me that he did not know British people always keep left when walking, so he walked to the right-hand side on their streets and bumped into some people.

On the other hand, although people should pay attention to foreign customs and traditions of a country where they begin to move in, they do not need to follow all of them. Firstly, some customs and traditions of a foreign country are not important, even with residences. Therefore, people will waste their time when trying to follow all things in order to adopt a new environment. Secondly, keeping traditional values in a foreign country allow people to respect their hometown cultures and attach importance to national history. Take my uncle as an example. Despite living in Australia for ten years, he still goes to Pagodas on Lunar New Year to remember sacrifices of their ancestors.

In conclusion, people should know cultures of a foreign country where they will live, but I disagree that they must follow all these customs and traditions.