People should look after their health as a duty for society, rather than personal benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a public concern that citizens should take care of their well-being as a social responsibility better than only for their own benefit. I believe that people should take good care of their health not only to create benefits but also to upgrade the lives of the citizens within their own countries.

On the one hand, many people claim that the secret to a happy life is through achieving and maintaining good health. Good health enables people to pursue their dreams and enjoy their life. Many people today suffer from chronic disease because they ignored their health problems when they were young. Therefore, It makes perfect sense that people take care of their health to benefit them personally by taking other activities, for example, playing sports, working, traveling, and a healthy diet.

However, people should not disregard the responsibility of taking care of one’s self for the society’s overall wellness. One reason is that an ill person may be a threat to the bigger population when the disease is highly contagious. For example, in Covid 19 pandemic, each person has to protect their health, others, and block the spread of them by wearing masks and washing hands carefully. In addition, unhealthy individuals can be a burden for society and put heavier pressure on the national budget. Let’s look at the spread of Covid 19 again, there are many people who suffer from disease and unemployment, so the budget which must be used as a subsidy for cure, social assistance is up to billion dollars. This pandemic also makes the economy certainly locked down.

In conclusion, taking care of health is not only undoubtedly needed for one’s own benefit, it also plays a vital role in ensuring the nation’s well-being. Therefore, each citizen has to take these responsibilities to maintain a healthy society.