People spend large amounts of time and money on clothes, hairstyles and make up to change their appearance.

Is it important for people to be concerned about the way they look? What are the consequences of focussing on physical appearance?

Youths these days are paying hefty price for their outward appearance. They not only shop from high street brands but also doing stuffs like hair colour, tattoos which wasn't common before this generation. This essay will discuss the importance of looking attractive and it will also discuss its effects on the people.

First of all, looking good does play an important part in someone's life as it gives them the self-confidence in doing things which they generally avoid. Take interview for an example. It has long been associated that when going for an interview, one should look neat and tidy as it would give good impression about the interviewee. In addition to that, good appearance may bring self-esteem to them and feel more confident about themselves.

On the other side, focusing blindly on physical appearance can bring a lot of negativity in a person's life. While looking good and attractive, people can surpass their expense by spending more on beauty products which can create disparity among the less-privileged. As a result, people will be judged on the basis of their lifestyle and expensive clothes which will eventually dis-integrate people from the society.

Another major problem of focusing on external appearance is that people go on extreme to look good. Both men and women try their best to look good which can have adverse effect on their health. For instance, some women may choose to go for plastic surgery to improve their physical appearance, while some men may take certain drugs which can help them develop, masculine figure. This shows that, people can go to any length when it comes to good appearance even neglecting their health for it.

In conclusion, external appearance does play a part in personality development but it comes with a cost of dis-integration and peer pressure. As people get so concerned about their image that they neglect basic necessities of life like living in harmony and charity.