People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families, the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

Working hours have been in the center of controversy for a long period of time. It is said that long, continuous working hours can adversely influence workers themselves, put a strain on their families and even the community as a whole. From my point of view, I completely side with the above statement due to the following reasons.

To employees, the extension of working hours can pose some serious threats to not only their health but also the happiness of their families. First, spending more time at the office means sitting in your office chair and staring at the computer's screen for a long period of time. These lengthy periods of sedentary behaviour may be essential to get the job done but in fact they put workers’ physical health at great risk. It is indicated in some recent research that backache and shoulders pain are the most common problems faced by job holders. The rate of having heart disease also increases considerably because of overtime working. Not only physical health but employees’ mental health can also be affected negatively.

Second, stress and pressure which are the culprit of some problems with close relationships may find their ways to dominate worker’s life. If employees spend most of their day at the workplace, family and friends could feel deprived of their presence, love and affection. Also, usually work-related frustration can come out on loved ones, making relationships strained.

In addition, overtime working can actually put a hefty toll on productivity. Scientists have already shown that extensive working hours can never cultivate in efficiency but instead result in the low quality of work and higher rates of turnover. Consequently, employers need to spend a large amount of money and resources to retrain new employed workers which is time-wasting and money-consuming. To a nation in general, it has chronic impacts, preventing the optimization of resource and human capital.

In conclusion, in light of the aforementioned explanations, there should be restrictions on working hours.