People think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to the new
buildings. Do you agree or disagree? How important are old buildings to us?
Every item of property has its own lifespan. So does every building. City planners are very often
confronted with a debate concerning whether an old building should be deconstructed or maintained.
In my opinion, it depends on whether the targeted building can satisfy the needs of the city.
There is no denying that some old buildings are of aesthetic, archaeological or architectural values.
They might be either integral to a culture as a symbol of a city or country or unique in the domain of
architecture. Demolition of such buildings will inflict damage to cultural heritage and prevent
architects from drawing their inspiration from their predecessors. Because of their uniqueness, old
buildings are very likely to provide a source of tourism income, if maintained well. It is fair to say that
old buildings of this kind are much more important than any new building and performing more
functions than any new building does.
With regard to other old buildings, possessing no specific value while becoming dilapidated, entire
destruction is an acceptable and understandable decision. Low in quality and poor in conditions, some
old buildings are actually posing a danger on users and pedestrians. They might stand in the way of a
new road line or impede other forms of urban development. Whether they have been renovated or not,
these buildings blemish the landscape and provide no justification for continued maintenance.
Replacing old buildings with new ones meets the renewed needs of the city.
In summary, whether to conserve or pull down old buildings is a question that can only be answered
on a case-by-case basis. People involved should carefully weigh up the pros and cons of new
developments before reaching a conclusion.