people today more and more concerned with owning material possesions than with developing friendships and family relationships

It has been suggested that these days we tend to prioritize the accumulation of possessions over the development of relationships with those closest to us. Some people think that values such as friendships and family relationships have become unimportant and the only significant thing is the amount of money each person has. From my perspective, I partly agree with this opinion, and in this essay I will explain why.

Undeniably, in this materialistic world, people tend to admire or envy with those financially superior or who claim desirable positions in various social hierarchies. It is believed that we are living in the pop culture and materialistic era these days, as the public judge each individual based on his/her social status and wealth. It can be seen from how celebrities become famous nowadays. Many celebrities are being popular because of their physical appearance and personal wealth such Kim Kardashian. Her reality television program never shows any world class acting quality, but only shows about her luxurious mansions and fancy cars. And then there are other celebrities who are well known due to his/her social status as the son or the daughter of a wealthy family. One of the examples would be Paris Hilton, although she has many bad attitudes, she is still popular because she inherits the assets of her parents.

Similarly, one from a affluent family might feel hesitant to befriend someone who is struggling to make ends meet, seeing as the latter is not on the same level with one in terms of social status. Popularity of luxury goods is increasing, friends competitive about owning the most exclusive brands. If you visit the Rich kids of Vietnam on Instagram, you will be overwhelmed with their hideways with shoes, bags, and dress collection of top brands, supercars, lavish parties. One of their “indispensable specialities” is a picture of long shopping bills with unbelievably huge numbers, even an ordinary person working hard his whole life has not earned it. Actually, they are not fashion salve, however, the more bills showed off, the more competitive and influenced on social network they have.

On the other hand, I also hold the belief that it is unreasonable to stereotype the whole society based on the behavior and way of thinking of some people. Society is diversified, not everyone is materialistic, it depends on personality, upbringing, friendship groups. From times to times, children are taught that a clean fast is better than a dirty breakfast by their teachers and parents. It means in any situation, although faced with a variety of shortages and money, you must keep your own self – esteem, do not do bad actions. Besides, in fact, some cultures still maintain family unit as strongly as ever. Take Vietnam for example, nowadays, Vietnamese have a habit of living in the extended families contained grandparents, parents and their sons/daughters why they consider family is the major part of life. Thus, they are close – knit and help, support, take care each other which create beauty in Vietnamese culture – the piety

To sum up, people can become more selfish because of their desire for material things. We cannot deny the certain benefits of possessions, but we should use them effectively, and make our life better with love and care. Friendships and family friendships maybe abstract, symbolic thinking (unlike money), however, they seem to be sustainable and meaningful values of each ones.