People who decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it are more likely to have a satisfying working life than those who often change jobs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often debated that people who choose a career path early in life and stick with it are more likely to have a fulfilling working life than those who change jobs frequently. From my perspective, while job hopping has its own benefits, I firmly agree that people should choose a job earlier on and in this essay, I will support my opinion with relevant examples.

On the one hand, there is a wide range of benefits to job-hopping. To begin with, people who change their jobs have the opportunity to try their hands in different fields and thereby acquire more skills. They may find job satisfaction in being able to put the knowledge gained from previous employment into practice at the new workplace. What’s more, job hoppers who experience various working environments have the chance to find what suits them best. What I mean is that these kinds of experiences give them the feeling of challenge and excitement.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons why we should have a permanent career early. Firstly, if people stay in a job long term, they will have the opportunity to be considered for promotion and salary increase. That is to say, those who work longer for a company stand a higher chance of moving up the ladder and earn a more lucrative living. Secondly, people will focus their time and energy on those that can help them pursue their targets. For instance, those who dream to be doctors should learn some subjects deeply such as math, physics, chemistry, and biology. Others who decide to become doctors after graduation, in comparison, will be unable to do so since they will need to complete more than eight years of professional training in universities.

In conclusion, I believe that despite the excitement that changing jobs brings, it is staying with the same job that is more likely to bring greater job fulfillment.