People like working for a company rather than starting their own business.

Why is this the case?

What can be done to encourage people to start their own business?

People often rely on getting employment with a good organisation and spend life as employee rather than choosing to become an entrepreneur. This essay will discuss reasons behind this scenario, and what can be done to motivate talented people to start their own venture instead.

Firstly, one of main reason behind people not interested in becoming entrepreneurs is lack of capital investment, considering 90 percent of world population is either middle class or poor. Consequently, they don’t have enough funds to start business at their own, even if they have excellent business plan. Secondly, an entrepreneur requires leadership qualities and excellent business idea in modern world of cut throat competition. People may be afraid of starting new business as they don’t have enough experience to face high competition in the market.

There are many steps which can be taken by government and private organisation to motivate potential entrepreneurs to start their own business, instead of them choosing to work for another organisation. Government can make policies to support new start-ups such as sharing risk with banks to give loans to start-ups, or motivating big organisations to support unique small businesses through capital investments. For example, Silicon valley is an excellent example of this, where start-ups with unique business model can get funding very easily due to support from big businesses and policies of United States of America. Similarly, Government and established businesses can provide required training to motivate people to start new businesses, so that they are not afraid of failure due to not having enough experience.

To conclude, lack of enough capital and experience are two main causes of people choosing to become an employee, instead of employer, and these obstacles can be removed to an extent if government and established organisations choose to extent their helping hand in terms of money and required training.