A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons

Nowadays, the dilemma of our society is that a person’s worth is measured according to one’s bank balance rather than the qualities of kindness, trust and good character. In my opinion, I agree that the people of today’s century have become so self-centered and materialistic that they don’t value the generous and pious personality anymore.

Firstly, people have become so self-centered that they only want to keep relation with those who can give them some worldly benefits. When a person is rich, they find a lot of friends around them because that way they are advantageous to others and when the same person loses money, the same relatives and friends start avoiding them. I take the personal example of my family, until my father was earning well, he had many friends visiting him and requesting him financial favors, but when we went into severe financial crises. Eventually, all his friends and relatives abandoned us.

Another reason is that, nowadays, people are materialistic and they feel proud to be part of an elite class and afraid to be judged by others for keeping contact with people of a lower class. In other words, the peer pressure to maintain their own social status take preference and halt them to be linked with anyone who is in any way lower to their status. For instance, it has become a common problem in South Asia that many couples can not get married because the families do not accept the other family because of their lower material belongings regardless of the intelligence and good character of a person.

In conclusion, in today’s materialistic world, the qualities of being a better human being are rarely considered as a measurable criteria to judge a person and has been replaced by the material possession and the worldly bank balance no matter how characterless a person is.