A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons

Presently, humans are being graded in a society based on the valuable belongings they possess and their social class, whereas, personal traits have become less important, such as honesty, empathy, and trustworthiness. This essay disagrees because traditional values still play a vital role in the community.

Firstly, undeniably, wealthy people become popular more easily than those who have less in their bank accounts and get more media coverage. However, rich will only be appreciated positively, if they do good towards the community, such as doing charity or humanitarian work. A person who owns a huge sum but does not spend on the better cause would project himself as a miser and unkind. Whereas, those who spend a sum from their earnings on public welfare would be treated with respect. For example, Bill Gates is famous for having wealth, but people admire him more for his philanthropist work as he donates money to the needy and misfortunate.

Secondly, moral principles still play a key role in the whole economic and social system. Industries and even small businesses around the world still hire employees based on moral beliefs. Several personality tests tell what kind of thinking a person possesses and no organization would ever appoint an untrustworthy individual. In addition to that, even in the present time, it is unacceptable for the people to be unkind to each other or treat someone as inferior. Not only the government have laws to protect misbehavior, but even the public also stands up based on basic human principles. For example, in many western countries, the racists and impolite words are punishable by Law and the public stands for these rights.

In conclusion, although the societal standards of judgment have changed, however, conventional values are still an integral part of the human civilization and are of significant value.