A person worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possesions. Old fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seems important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the past having a good traditional values was more respected than the high social level or wealth. I personally agree that both social degree and the richness are important due to the power on society. However certain essential values cannot be put aside.

On the one hand, the social status and the money we possessed can be used for an approaching media to encourage a better quality of society. People with high status are commonly easier to influence others to do any improvement, such as encouraging them to have a higher education, better sanitation and many more. Similarly, the amount of money has a major role for helping the poor so they would likely have a better quality of life. Due to the high capability for the higher social level and the rich people to improve society’s life, they should be respected well.

Nevertheless, money and the status are not the only aspect to be concerned. Values that are being kept as old-fashioned such as honour, trust and kindness have the equal importance as the society would be ruined if people lose those values. Having those encourages people to do salient things more and more, as the wealthy people would be strict to share if they are not kind or the particular government with strong power would likely to sacrifice the society’s rights for their own welfare unless they consider their honour and loyalty.

To sum up, I tent to disagree if the traditional values are being kept as unimportant although I realise that money possession and the level among society are essential as well.