Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems Some people say they should be banned To what extent do you agree or disagree

Despite many advantages, plastic shopping bags are still a huge source of pollution. Thus, the artificial pocket should be banned and replaced by environmentally friendly material.

To begin, we should know that plastic bags cause a lot of damage to the ecological system. Firstly, plastic bags are the products of the fossil fuels industry. Each year, it takes billions of pounds of fossil fuels and millions of tons of water to create enough bags. And this process also releases a great amount of CO2 which increases greenhouse gas emission. Secondly, bags made from polythene take a long time for discomposing. Research has found that one plastic bag needs about 1000 years to be clearly dissolved. During that time, its toxic substances are released into the land and water. Then, the vegetables grown in that farmland would transport the toxic from plastic bags to the human body, which leads to illness. Thirdly, animals often confuse the bag for food and eat them. Therefore, they die from blockage and poisoning. For example, in 2015, a big whale was found dying on the Japan beach because of a full - plastic bag - stomach. These are reasons why humans should stop using bags made from polythene to have a better life.

There are many ways to resolve this problem. The most typical solution is to replace disposable bags with bags made from paper or cotton. While this kind of material is easier to decompose, it can also be reused many times. Some people in Asian countries have their own big bag which can use year after year. They take it every time they go shopping to put all bought items in their bags. This is also a great way to reduce plastic bags.

Finally, there is a need to minimise our plastic use to save the planet. In Particular, stopping using plastic bags is the most important and easiest way to do in this sensitive time.